ALCTS - Association of Library Collections & Technical Services

Task Force on Alpha Prototype of Reorganized Part One


The Logical Structure of AACR Part I
Report (8/31/2001)


July 13, 2001


The Task Force on Alpha Prototype of Reorganized Part One is charged with:

  • examining the prototype of part I of AACR2 created by Bruce Johnson and Bob Ewald (Library of Congress), using Cataloger’s Desktop to rearrange the existing text of Part I into a text that groups rules according to ISBD areas
  • determining whether this rearrangement is what was suggested in Delsey’s The Logical Structure of the Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules
  • determining whether such a reorganization would be practical and user friendly for cataloguers
  • identifying areas where the reorganization does not work as well as the existing arrangement
  • if deemed appropriate, suggest alternative possible reorganization(s) of the rules.

A final report shall be sent to the Chair of CC:DA no later than August 15, 2001.


July 10, 2001


Robert L. Maxwell, Chair
Brigham Young University
6430 Harold B. Lee Library
Provo, UT 84602
work: (801) 378-5568
fax: (801) 378-3221

Steven R. Arakawa
Yale University Library
P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
work: (203) 432-8286
fax: (203) 432-7231

Anne Champagne
Art Institute of Chicago
Ryerson & Burnham Library
111 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60603-6110
work: (312) 857-7108
fax: (312) 443-0105

Michael A. Chopey
University of Hawaii at Manoa Libraries
Thomas Hale Hamilton Library
2550 The Mall
Honolulu, HI 96822-2233
work: (808) 956-2765
fax: (808) 956-5968

Mary L. Larsgaard
University of California, Santa Barbara
Davidson Library
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
work: (805) 893-4049
fax: (805) 893-8799

Sara Shatford Layne
University of California, Los Angeles
Science & Engineering Library
8251 Boelter Hall
Box 951598
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1598
work: (310) 825-3438
fax: (310) 206-9872

Nancy E. Lorimer
Stanford University
Music Library
Braun Music Center, 541 Lasuen Mall
Stanford, CA 94305-3076
work: (650) 725-8819
fax: (650) 725-1145

Dorothy McGarry
PO Box 931119
Los Angeles, CA 90093-1119
work: (310) 825-3438
fax: (310) 206-9872

Martha M. Yee
UCLA Film and Television Archive
1015 N. Cahuenga Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90038-2635
work: (323) 462-4921 x27
fax: (323) 461-6317

Send e-mail to: Task Force Members


August 31, 2001


The report of the Task Force is available in the following formats: